The local election ballot took shape on Friday after all persons filing candidacies in Socorro County last week were certified by the New Mexico Secretary of State’s Voter Services. November’s election will be the first under the state’s new election code.Election Day is slated for Tuesday, Nov. 5.

All elections are for local candidates and are nonpartisan contests.

Socorro Consolidated School Board

Nine candidates will vie for three positions on the local school board. In District I, three candidates will face off for the currently position held by Kim Gonzales, who decided not to seek re-election. Vying for the positions are David Elfrigo Greigo III, David Roy Hicks and Geraldine Jaramillo Maldonado. David Greigo III, 47, is college graduate and currently is employed as a property yard loader. David Roy Hicks 49, is graduate of New Mexico State University with a bachelor of arts degree in economics and minor in agricultural marketing. He is self-employed. Geraldine Jaramillo Maldonado, 49, of Socorro, is a Socorro High School graduate. None of the candidates in District I have held any elected positions before.

In District II, incumbent Carlos E. Vega will be facing challengers Gregory D. Ezell, Michael J. Hargather and Adam S. Paz. Carlos E. Vega, is a graduate of Socorro High School and is employed at New Mexico Tech. He currently serves on the Socorro Consolidated School Board and is the board secretary. Adam S. Paz, 43, of Socorro, is the owner of That Barber Shop in Socorro. He has not held any elected position before. Gregory D. Ezell, 65, of Socorro, has a bachelor’s of science in mathematics and an M.S.T. from New Mexico Tech. He is a retired educator and has not held public office before. The fourth candidate in District II is Michael Hargather of Socorro. Hargather, 36, has a Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering and is an associate professor at New Mexico Tech. He also has not held public office before, either.

In District III, incumbent Juan “JC” C. Trujillo will face off against challenger Lindsey Dawn Lopez. Trujillo, 34, of Socorro, is the chief financial officer at Positive Outcomes and is pursuing a Business Law degree. He is a graduate of Socorro High School and currently is a member of the Socorro Consolidated School Board. Lindsey Dawn Lopez, 36, of San Antonio, has a Masters in Public Health and currently is the Head Start Center Director in Socorro. She has served on the Head Start Policy Council and as SCOPE secretary. She also serves as chair of the NMOTA. Magdalena School District In Magdalena, five individuals have filed for three open positions on the local school board.

Vying for the District III position are incumbent Marva L. Brunson and Sharon L. Harris. Marva L. Brunson of Magadalena is a current member of the Magdalena School Board and has been on the board for several terms. Sharon L. Harris, 66, of Magdalena, has been a board member for the previous four years. She has a bachelor’s of science degree from Eastern New Mexico University and is a retired teacher. Brett D. Bruton is the lone candidate for the District IV school board post. Bruton, 32, of Magdalena, graduated from New Mexico State University with a degree in ag business. He currently serves as the Assistant Manager of Bruton Ranch in Magdalena and is a board member of the San Agustine Water Coalition.

While in Distict V, incumbent Linda Jean Montoya will face off against Kayla Kersey. Linda Jean Montoya, 68, of Magdalena, was appointed to the school board to fill a vacancy. She has a bachelor’s of science degree in education from Indiana State University and done post graduate work at New Mexico Tech and the University of New Mexico. Kayla Kersey, 31, of Magdalena, attended college and is a business consultant and executive. She has not held public office before.

Magdalena Trustee, Municipal Judge

There is only one candidate each vying for trustee and the municipal judge position in Magdalena. Donna B. Dawson is the lone candidate for the Magdalena trustee position. Dawson, 60, of Magdalena, has an associate’s degree in CIS. She is a real estate broker and was previously elected as a trustee. Simon J. Armijo is lone candidate seeking the Magdalena municipal judge post.

Socorro Soil and Water Conservation District

Three individuals are vying for the District 1 position for the Soil and Water Conservation District. Candidates include Sam B. Olney, Edward L. Harris and Vernon G. Leseberg Sr. There is only one candidate for the District 2 position, Brian Stephen Durkin.