New school board members

Brett Bruton (left) and Kayla Kersey (center) take the oath of office from Magdalena Municipal Judge Simon Armijo as the newest members of Magdalena Schools’ Board of Education Monday night. Bruton and Kersey join current members Lynne Major, Sharon Harris and Kelby Stephens. In separate action, the board chose Major as board President, Harris as Vice-President and Kersey as Secretary. The Magdalena school board meets on the third Monday of the month at 6 p.m. in the school library.